Books with Scare Power: Dan Poblocki on "Shadow House"

Episode 24 · October 17th, 2016 · 22 mins 17 secs

About this Episode

Just in time for Halloween, Dan Poblocki, author of the new multiplatform series Shadow House, joins us to talk about the origins of his spooky tales. The series comes with an app, which is perfect for young readers. In the episode, Dan (pictured here with his bewitching editor, Erin Black) reveals all of the creepy things that have happened to people who have worked on the Shadow House series. Join us for some scary stories!


  • Dan Poblocki is the author of The Stone ChildThe NightmarysThe Ghost of GraylockThe Haunting of Gabriel AsheThe Book of Bad Things, and the Mysterious Four series. He lives in Brooklyn with two adorable cats and more books than he has room for. Visit him at Dan welcomes readers to Shadow House, a new multiplatform series filled with ghostly apparitions, spooky noises, and things that go bump in the night. The Gathering, Book 1 in the series, is in stores now. Book 2, You Can’t Hide, is coming in January 2017.

Additional resources:

Special thanks:

  • Music composed by Lucas Elliot Eberl

  • Sound mix and editing by Daniel Jordan and Christopher Johnson

  • Produced by Morgan Baden